Eight From OHL Named to Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup Roster

Hockey Canada announced the 22 players that made the final cut for the Ivan Hlinka tournament on Tuesday, and the roster will include eight players from the OHL joining Head Coach Jody Hull.

On defense, Matthew Spencer from the Peterborough Petes and Mitchell Vande Sompel of the Oshawa Generals both made the team, while forwards Lawson Crouse (Kingston), Graham Knott (Niagara), Travis Konecny (Ottawa), Mitchell Marner (London), Mitchell Stephens (Saginaw), and Dylan Strome (Erie) were all included on the final 22-man roster.

Both Crouse and Konecny played on the 2014 IIHF U-18 World Championship team as under-agers in April. They were able to help Team Canada to a bronze medal.

Canada has won the tournament six-straight years, and has failed to win gold just five times since 1991.

Bryan Thiel is a freelance broadcaster who’s covered the OHL from rink side and the broadcast booth. He’s also filed feature reports on the OHL for the past three seasons. You can follow him on Twitter at BryanThiel_88.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s